Early to Rise…


Whenever possible, I like to get an early start to the day.  I do my best work in the morning, when the house is quiet and Chaos is sleeping.  That means arising immediately after I first awake, around 4:30 or 5:00 a.m.  If I sleep much past that, I start dreaming, and once I enter the dream world, it’s very, very difficult to drag myself away.  It’s sort of like getting to the end of an enjoyable novel, and not wanting to leave your new friends behind.

And if I wake in the middle of a dream, it’s even more treacherous, because I feel as though I’m leaving behind something unfinished.  And so I lie in bed and replay the dream in my head, trying to puzzle out where it was going and why I was having it.  Inevitably I fall asleep and go on to still another perplexing storyline.

Especially after working long hours, when the pressure lets up I try to afford myself at least a few mornings a week to sleep in (like, till 8 a.m.), because I know how important REM sleep and dreaming is for keeping the grey matter in tune.  It allows the brain the opportunity to defragment its hard drive, clean up files and correct format errors.  Ever notice how cranky your computer gets when you keep it on for a few days in a row?

Some experts believe that dreaming is how your subconscious makes sense of events and emotions that are weighing on your mind.  That would explain why people tend to display symptoms of dementia when they undergo significant sleep deprivation.  There are too many unresolved issues tumbling around in the background.  The buffer is full.  Files are corrupted.  Don’t wait for the fatal error message — time to reboot.

Oh well, food for thought.  Time to leave you; Chaos has arisen.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

