Just One Resolution


Sorry Lissa, I’ve been really, really swamped with work.  I’ve been doing a lot of thinking, and what I really want to do is get this one book written.  I have so many stories to tell, but I think I’ve been going about it all wrong.  Instead of sitting down and trying to write it like a memoir starting from the beginning and slogging through to the end, I’m just going to write anecdotes as they pop into my head. — short stories.  I can edit them into different lengths and submit them to Reader’s Digest or other magazines, and maybe generate some interest for the book.  Then when I get enough stories, I can just put them together as a book.  Anyway, I really feel good about this new effort.  Here’s my first anecdote.  It’s too long to publish here, so I posted it on my FreePeewee.com site, in the “What’s Up Peewee” section.  Check it out.  It starts out:

The Day I Joined the Bounce Club

In the sport of skydiving, to “bounce” is to land a parachute that has malfunctioned, usually in a rather fast and violent manner.  Ideally, when a parachute malfunctions, the skydiver releases it by means of a “cutaway” handle and deploys the reserve, landing unharmed and ready to buy a case of beer for the rigger who packed the reserve chute.  Unfortunately, sometimes things happen, and for whatever reason, be it lack of time, altitude or awareness, the skydiver fails to perform the proper emergency actions and crashes to the ground under a malfunctioned parachute.  It’s called a “bounce” because often the body can be seen to bounce slightly on impact.  People rarely survive a bounce.  I did.

Read the rest of the story at FreePeewee.com/whats-up-peewee.html

2 Responses to “Just One Resolution”

  1. Sunny Says:

    What a great story teller! I would read your book any day! The sooner, the better

Leave a Reply

